2019 Dakar Rally Recap: Al-Attiyah Seizes Win With Toyota, Cavigliasso Crushes Nine Out of Ten Stages

The 2019 Dakar Rally wraps up with some huge victories

2019 Dakar Rally - Recap

The 41st outing of the Dakar Rally has concluded in Lima, Peru.

After 10 total stages, we now have the winners in each category of the 2019 Dakar Rally. 179 riders and drivers completed the journey back to Lima over the grueling competition. Among them were 75 bikes, 15 quads, 76 cars, 20 side-by-sides and 13 trucks. Overall, Nasser Al-Attiyah and Mathieu Baumel of Toyota Gazoo Racing South Africa won the rally in a Toyota Hilux.

Commenting on the victory, Toyota president Akio Toyoda said, “I would like to sincerely thank all teams that chose Toyota for this year’s Dakar Rally. Thank you for your hard work!”

But what about the other categories? Here’s a recap from the 2019 Dakar Rally:

Nasser Al-Attiyah won in the car category with this Toyota Hilux. [Photo: Toyota Gazoo Racing]


Nasser Al-Attiyah won his third Dakar Rally Thursday. Ultimately, he built up a 46-minute lead as he completed the final stage. “It’s fantastic. No mistakes during the entire rally. It was a very, very difficult rally for everybody,” Al-Attiyah said. “The good thing was that from day three we were leading and we built on our time every day until we came to the last day with a big, big lead.”

Al-Attiyah’s last two Dakar Rally victories were with Volkswagen in 2011 and Mini in 2015.

Rounding out the podium in overall was Nani Roma in an X-Raid Mini, who took second place. He and co-driver Alex Haro Bravo ended up about 46 minutes behind Al-Attiyah. Nine-time world rally champion Sebastian Loeb, racing in a privately-entered Peugeot, took third after suffering navigation mistakes and mechanical problems.

Toby Price - Stage 8 of 2019 Dakar Rally
Toby Price won the 2019 Dakar Rally in the bike category. [Photo: Marcin Kin for KTM]


Australian rider Toby Price took the motorcycle crown, battling a wrist injury throughout the event. He and two other riders for the Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team filled out the podium in the bike category. Matthias Walkner finished second overall, 9 minutes behind Price. Sam Sunderland finished third.

32-year old seven-time rally rider Pablo Quintanilla fought for the podium in this year’s rally, but it was not to be. Riding for Husqavarna, he suffered a fall while staging an all-out effort to beat Price. Officials reversed a penalty for Sunderland from earlier in the race, locking Quintanilla out of a podium finish this year.

Of his victory, Price said, “It’s been a long ten days…At the end of the day, the pain and torture has been worth it.”


Chilean drivers Francisco Lopez Contardo and Alvaro Juan Leon Quintanilla took the SxS category in a Can-Am Maverick X3. Overall, racing for the South Racing Can-Am team, they completed the stages in 42 hours, 19 minutes and five seconds.

Commonly known as “Chaleco”, the former biker made a remarkable return to Dakar after a five-year absence. He won four of the ten stages and comfortably won in the category. Monster Energy Can-Am racer Gerard Farres Guell took second, 1 hour and 2 minutes behind Chaleco. Rounding out the podium was teammate Reinaldo Verela, who completed the stages in 43 hours, 24 minutes and 24 seconds, just three minutes behind Gerard Farres Guell.

Nicolas Cavigliasso took the quad category by storm. [Photo: Yamaha]


Argentina’s Nicolás Cavigliasso absolutely crushed his opponents to take the quad title. He won nine out of ten stages of this year’s rally — unprecedented in Dakar’s history. Bear in mind, this is only Cavigliasso’s second Dakar outing.

“It wasn’t easy,” he said as he crossed the last stage. “I worked hard before this Dakar…Now I’m number one in the quad race and I’m so, so happy.”

Fellow Argentinian Jeremías González Ferioli finished second, 1 hour and 55 minutes behind Cavigliasso. Finally, French rider Alexandre Giroud finished out the podium for the quad category.

Eduard Nikoalev won the truck category. [Photo: Kamaz]


Kamaz driver Eduard Nikoalev clinched his third Dakar victory in a row this year. All in all, this makes his fourth title in total. He commanded three stage wins and a victory over teammate Dmitry Sotniokov by a not insubstantial 25 minutes in the overall standings.

Gerard de Rooy, in an Iveco, finished third overall. Filling out the podium in the truck category, he trailed Sotnikov by an hour and a half.